Camp Family

The SDES family is comprised of generous and supportive individuals, families, alumni, volunteers, donors, civic organizations, corporate sponsors, and leadership who share the common bond of caring and serving children and teens living with diabetes and their families. Over 375 people volunteer each year to make our many diabetes camps and community programs successful, including Board of Directors, physicians, nurses, NPs, certified diabetes educators, pharmacists, nutritionists, students, counselors, and activity leaders. SDES Community Leaders lead and assist with fundraising and family activity events.

SDES Board of Directors


Tip McAlpin, Chair Gordon “Gus” Gary, Chair Emeritus
David Jamieson, JD, Vice Chair Matthew Munson, Chair Elect
Wilson Holifield, Treasurer Cindy Freeman, Secretary


Chris Bouton Taylor Caffey, MD, Medical Director Emeritis
Hannah Chadee Richard Epstein
Brigitte George Mary Annette Hess, PhD
Katie Hester Stephanie Jordan, MBA
Anne-Marie Kaulfers, MD Enga McLendon
Tip McKnight, MD Ava Mitchell, DNP, CRNP
Julia Pacheco Joan Rickert, RN, CDE
Stacy Schneider Mike Shelton, PMP
Heather Whitley, PharmD  

Advisory Board

Bert Eichold, MD Quinton Gurley, MD
Dennis Pillion, PhD  


Rhonda McDavid, Executive Director John Latimer, Camp & Community Programs Director
Mary Ellen Dixon, Program & Communications Manager Amanda Jordan, Assistant Camp Director
Angie Teague, Registrar  

Community Outreach

Jodie Fidler, Mobile/Baldwin Co.
Maria Martin, Pensacola/NW Florida